Some things I have been doing like

Hello there, how are you? Yeah, I’m fine, you know how it is…busy…writing…making stuff…staring at the fridge and wondering how many Laughing Cow cheese triangles I could fit in my mouth before I gag. If you’re a regular reader of this blog (hello you!), you might already be aware that I am a hopeless lover of fairly silly challenges. Basically I am never happier than when stretched to my physical, emotional and intellectual limits by some peculiar – and ultimately futile – quest I’ve set myself.  Since coming to the end of my Seamless Pledge about a month ago my subconscious has been aimlessly casting around for a shiny, new Thing to amuse itself with and well, I’ve been wanting to improve my drawing for some time now, so I decided to try and complete a drawing a day for a year. Unfortunately (and not a little paradoxically) I’d forgotten that I had already made a rule not to make any new silly rules for myself, so I haven’t done one a day but I have managed to turn out one or two fairly awful sketches. I thought I’d post them here for posterity so you can point and laugh.  Hopefully, if I keep going, there will soon be some discernible  improvement.

What's in the glass? I hear you ask. The truth. The truth is in that glass. Or perhaps gin.

What’s in the glass? I hear you ask. The truth. The truth is in that glass. Or gin…it could be gin.

I'm actually kind of pleased with this one, even if Gaz isn't.

I’m actually kind of pleased with this one, even if Gaz  really isn’t. What does he think this is anyway? The Tudor court? History joke.

And then I drew an enormous hairy beaver-monster clutching a cup of tea. He's glum - it's not very good tea.

And then I drew an enormous hairy beaver-monster clutching a cup of tea. He’s glum – it’s not very good tea.

Leave a Reply

