GLITCH’S BREW #2

Hello everyone. I bet you thought I wouldn’t remember to do it, didn’t you? Yeah, me too. Anyway this should be quite a colourful Glitch’s Brew because this week I’ve been… well, see for yourself.

crocheted fascinator, green base with multcoloured flowers

I made this fascinator to wear to my Aunty’s wedding in a couple of weeks time. I am in two minds as to whether it’s beautiful or hideous. It was inspired by something I saw in an issue of Molly Makes magazine. I can’t remember who made it (sorry) but it was lush – much prettier than this one. Here’s my version.  I’d love to know what you think.

unfinished vintage quilt

A while ago I found this vintage quilt in a charity shop for £18.00. It’s unfinished, with newspaper backing and tacking all the way around each hexagon. It’s going to take me ages to finish properly, but I had to have it. Just wait till you see the back…

vintage quilt, unfinished, back detail

vintage quilt showing back detail

Each one of these little newspaper hexagons is like a tiny inexplicable snippet of history. I’m not sure I’ll ever want to get rid of them. Through studying them, and the crazy psychedelic patterns obv, I’ve been able to date this quilt to after 1964 and before they banned cigarette advertising in the media.  I know… Miss Marple!

While all this was going on I was also actually working.  I am currently researching a book about Prisoners of War during WWII (yes. random) and, in the course of said research, I stumbled upon this amazing documentary on The Long Walk, courtesy of the blessed BBC Radio 4. If you have a spare 30mins I would really recommend a listen. It will BLOW YOUR MIND.

Alternatively, if you fancy a giggle this is ACE. COOOGAR

Leave a Reply

