The Seamless Pledge

For a long time now I’ve been feeling very dissatisfied with all that’s on offer on my local high street. For a start, it feels like the amount of choice available is decreasing with every passing season. I’m sure this has a lot to do with the recession, retail hit hard; shops closing; big outlets less inclined to take a risk on an interesting new designer; the rise and rise of poxy celebrity clothing lines etc. All in all – I’m thoroughly bored of the whole shebang. Every girl in this two-bit town of ours looks the same as the next, and the next, and the next. Well, me no longer. I’m ready for a bit of variety, so I stumbled upon this at just the right time. The Seamless Pledge is the brainchild of Elena Cresci, of Seamless blog. It’s all about ditching evil fast fashion in favour of something more interesting, sustainable and unique. All you do is make a promise that, for a chosen period of time, you will explore alternative ways to clothe yourself and refrain from all those impulse-y, credit card-y purchases you usually make when you’re tired of life. You know the ones I mean. Yes you do.

So here goes my pledge.

I, Ursula Glitch, hereby pledge to abstain from buying any newly manufactured clothes* until 8.11.2012. Instead I will use my time and extremely limited resources to find interesting and sustainable ways to dress without resorting to stealing other people’s clothes from washing lines, which is neither big, nor clever and can land you in a lot of trouble. I will patronize charity shops and vintage clothes shops. I will rifle through jumble and spend ages on Ebay. I will customize, adjust, nip-in and- if I really have to – take out existing garments but you will not find me shopping in Primark, or New Look, or even H&M, nor any equivalent high street store for the next six months. Hand me my tape measure, pin cushion and pinking sheers  – no, not those, they’re paper scissors, the ones with the zigzag edge. With these humble tools, I shall reclaim my right to look different from everyone else in the Arndale Centre. Come job interview, wedding reception, garden party or awkwardly themed hen do; you will not triumph, I shall be Seamless and Proud (and scruffy probably, but hey ho)

*apart from bras, which are essential but v. fiddly to make.

I can’t say I am not feeling a little apprehensive at the prospect of 6 months without my weekly fast fashion fix, but I do love a challenge so I have faith that I can do it. Keep popping back here for updates on my progress, and we’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

