Tutorial: Matilda (the granny square with heart)

ImageI am constantly crocheting stuff. More often than not the idea for said ‘stuff’ comes straight out of my imagination, but I have never actually attempted to write a crochet pattern. I may scribble some notes down here and there but I tend to find, when I return to them, they usually don’t make much sense to me, let alone anyone else. Recently one or two people have asked me to produce tutorials to accompany my bits and pieces. So I have decided to give it a go, beginning with the easiest pattern I can think of; the granny square with heart, which we’ll call Matilda (because I like giving my makes human names – it’s fun)

So, here’s the pattern. I would absolutely LOVE it if one or two of you crocheteers could test this out for me to see if it works. Let me know what happens in the comment box below and who knows, maybe I’ll do a give away. Ooh my first give away! Exciting!

Pattern: Matilda (granny square with heart)

You will need: chunky wool in 3 colours and 1, 5.50mm hook.

Round 1: Ch3 and connect to make a ring.

Round 2: Ch2, 2dc in ring, ch1, 3dc in ring, ch1, 3dc in ring, ch1, 3dc in ring, ch1 and ss in top of first dc to create a round.

Round 3: Turn work, Ch2, 2dc in space, ch1, 3 dc in same space, *ch1, (3dc, 1ch, 3 dc in next corner space)*. Repeat x2 from (*), ss in top of first dc to create a round.  Cast off.

Round 4: Join 1st colour in bottom centre space, ch2, 2dc in same space, join 2nd colour (move 1st colour to the back), ch1, (3dc,1ch,3dc) in corner, bring 1st colour forward, ch1, 3dc in next space, ch1, (3dc,1ch,3dc) in next corner space, bring 2nd colour forward, ch1, 3dc in top centre space, bring 1st colour forward, ch1, (3dc, 1ch, 3dc) in next corner space, ch1, 3dc in next space, bring 2nd colour forward, ch1, (3dc, 1ch, 3dc) in corner, ss in first dc to create round. Cast off.

Round 5: Join 2nd colour in any space, work a plain round.

Round 6: Join 3rd colour in any space, work a plain round. Cast off. Hide ends with bodkin.

25 comments on “Tutorial: Matilda (the granny square with heart)

  1. cuuuute!! grabbing my supplies now…

  2. Micki says:

    Got yarn and hook in hand!!!! Beautiful!

  3. fabiola says:

    beautiful,thanks!!!

  4. Joan in Wisconsin says:

    I don’t crochet very often, just know enough to be able to do this. How cute! Perfect for Valentine’s day as a coaster or something. Thanks.

  5. Saira Webster says:

    This is so pretty but I still need your help with this- i’m such a novice!

  6. Thank you so much for sharing your design! I am part of several charity groups who make and join crochet and knitted squares into blankets for people in need. I have made several of you heart squares in different colours to donate to these groups. 😀
    The charities I crochet for are Online Angels http://craftingforonlineangels.blogspot.ie/ ; and Henry Bear Blanketeers for Heart Children Ireland http://www.heartchildren.ie/henry-bear-blankeeters .
    I have made one small addition to your fantastic pattern by outlining the heart shape with a chain stitch. Here are some photos! https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=354145818001143&set=a.354145791334479.79124.102097596539301&type=1&theater
    Thanks again!

    • Thanks so much for your comment, I’m thrilled that you like my granny-square-with-heart pattern. It’s lovely to know that somewhere out there someone is crocheting my designs and using them for good – that chain stitch is a fab addition too btw. fx

    • Diana Garren says:

      I love your added chain stitch Virginia…I’ve never done any of the overlay stitching…how is that done? It looks simple but at the same time I don’t know how to start! lol

    • Maria Shaikh says:

      Hi. I love your heart pattern Ursula. I was wondering if Virginia could tell us how she outlined the heart with chains. I want very much to add this square to my blankie in progress.
      Thanks
      Maria

  7. Rustic angel says:

    I love it! I’m very new to crochet, having just done a beginners course so I can make a granny blanket for my newly renovated vintage caravan. It has come out great – I’m soo pleased with myself. The only thing I don’t know how to do is get rid of the ends. Can you help please 🙂

    • Thanks for the lovely comment. I’m so glad you like Matilda. Sarah London has this great post about weaving in ends, and this is basically the technique I use. If you encounter any more difficulties please feel free to let me know – maybe I can do a post of my own. fx

  8. Hannah says:

    Ohhh, thanks for sharing! I was wanting to make a pretty lap afghan for my toddler son’s music teacher as a goodbye present (we’re moving soon). I think one with a bunch of these squares will be just perfect. :~)

  9. Sheriva says:

    Rustic angel…Here is a YouTube video by Red Heart that should be of great help to you http://youtu.be/oyvdsTz9Jso

  10. Choccokat says:

    What brand of yarn did you use? Love the color combo

  11. […] – I’m just not great at writing patterns! It uses two colours in much the same way as Matilda, the granny square with heart, and it uses the same basic technique, so if you’ve enjoyed that you’ll hopefully enjoy […]

  12. marilyn says:

    I’m trying to find a pattern for a heart shaped afghan. Would this work?
    Thank you.

    • Hi Marilyn, thanks ever so much for your question. Are you looking for an afghan in the shape of a heart, or a regular rectangular afghan with hearts in the pattern? If it’s the latter you are looking for then yes, this should work. Not sure I can help you with the former though really, sorry!
      Fx

  13. I blog as well and I’m composing a thing very similar to this particular post,
    “Tutorial: Matilda (the granny square with heart) Ursula Glitch”.
    Do you care if perhaps I personallymake use of a little of your suggestions?

    Thanks for the post -Marina

  14. Not at all. I’d love it if you could squeeze in a link to this post, but basically you’re good to go.
    Fx

  15. […] and different with it.  This hat is by MellowMeCreations and combines two Ravelry patterns; my Matilda pattern and this granny square hat pattern. It’s like a big woolly cut ‘n’ shut, […]

  16. Natas Nest says:

    That’s soo lovely!! ♥ Thank you very much for the pattern :-))

  17. Meghan says:

    What’s the approx. size of the completed square? I ask because I’m working on a blanket now with 4inx4in squares and I wanted to add a row of hearts every once in awhile. I really like the way this design looks and think it’ll fit perfectly with my BSU themed blanket (yeah, I know hearts shouldn’t be in blue or orange, but we ❤ Boise State).
    Thanks!

  18. Sherri says:

    Gotta love anything called Matilda, after all, it’s what I named my daughter ❤

  19. […] your favorite granny square ( I used ‘Granny Heart‘, my own version of ‘Willow‘ and ‘October Love‘) approx 6 rounds of […]

Leave a Reply

