A Blanket for Sarah and Ben

Sarah and Ben's blanket as utilized for a romantic picnic on a beach, on a really cold day.

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a hundred times. There is nothing more satisfying than making a gift for someone you love. I give away most of the things I make. That’s why this blog is so handy, because it serves to remind me of all the things I’ve made over a long period of time. This way I can still enjoy giving them away to people who’ll treasure them. If I kept all my bits and pieces I know I’d quickly cease to enjoy them. For me the kick is in making stuff, not in owning it. After a while I would see only the flaws, the things I could have done better had I given it just a little bit more time, or tried just a little bit harder.

I crocheted this blanket for my friends Ben and Sarah, who got married in September. It took me ages, so I’d only recommend making this for someone you really, really love. The overall look is quite girly, and I have to admit it’s not really the sort of thing I’d usually go for. I included the hearts and flowers because it was a wedding present, and because they are more interesting to make than simple granny squares. I’ll post a tutorial for both in the next week or so. In the meantime, I hope you like the pics.

crocheted blanket with hearts and flowers

stripey border

heart granny square, in various shades of pink

flower granny square

Top edge of Sarah and Ben's blanket

3 comments on “A Blanket for Sarah and Ben

  1. secretmagpie says:

    What a unique and thoughtful gift, something your friends will be able to continue to enjoy throughout their married life. I’m a big believer in creating something beautiful to give away, it intensifies your desire to create it and the anticipation of them receiving it. Those feelings of giving are amplified and it makes you feel really happy!

  2. Wow that is a beautiful blanket!

  3. lee says:

    beautiful and a thoughtful and I’m sure, treasured gift! thanks for sharing how to make the lovely heart squares. 🙂

Leave a Reply

